faithymom
True Blue Farmgirl

360 Posts

Faith
Sandpoint ID
USA
360 Posts

Posted - Feb 13 2007 :  3:36:16 PM  Show Profile
The jar I put mine in is just a mason canning jar, but it's a wide mouth half-pint, so it's short and fat...perfect size for this. I made a single batch and it just filled the jar.
I keep my stuff in the fridge. I would think that the shelf-life would be fairly long, if there was one...I'm no food scientist, but it seems as though the lemon juice and the salt would help retard bacteria growth and since it's sugar that if it was going bad it would just mold and you'd see that it was past its prime...but I'm not positive, that's why mine's in the fridge.
This reminds me that I need to get these ready for upcoming birthdays...I may need to buy more muslin and some really cute fabric to make covers out of.

Faith

"All television is educational television. The only question is, what is it teaching?"-Fmr. FCC Commissioner Nicholas Johnson
Go to Top of Page

Past Blessings
True Blue Farmgirl

1083 Posts

Brenda
Orchard Prairie WA
USA
1083 Posts

Posted - Feb 14 2007 :  06:43:28 AM  Show Profile
Maybe try microwaving something in your mason jar first? The old mason jars weren't microwave proof . . . even though they tolerate high temps . . . it is the fast temp change that makes them break . . . that is why you heat them slowly in a water bath when canning. I just know if you heat them too fast, they will crack, so I would seriously try it first. Just not a lesson you want to learn the hard way.

I would think the shelf life would be fairly long too, but it would be interesting to contact some kind of "expert". I wonder if you could actually "Can" them so they would be hermatically sealed? Or would the sugar cook too much? Sorry, I am overthinking . . . it is just that now I am pondering making them for gifts. Anyone else with an expertise, please jump in.