Page: of 3

lonestargal
True Blue Farmgirl

607 Posts

Kristi
Texas
607 Posts

Posted - Sep 28 2005 :  6:31:09 PM  Show Profile
I've been really trying lately but it's so hard when I don't have the money. I'm just starting out with all this and I wouldn't even have a clue what to look for buying produce. I am doing A LOT better about buying processed foods like crackers, cookies and other snacks but still buy mac & cheese. It's quick,cheap and my kids LOVE it, wonderful for soccer and gymnastics nights. I must say though, the organic stuff I have bought like the yogurt, milk, sour cream is WONDERFUL!!! I can't believe there is so much difference in taste. My husband thinks I'm crazy but I think he's crazy if he can't tell the difference. Please oh wise ones, where do I look to see where the produce is from, I'm taking baby steps here but I don't even know where to start. I was at gymnastics for my daughter this week and was talking to a lady who just told me that she was just diagnosed with stage 3 breast cancer....so hearing that makes me want to avoid all these pesticides and hormones even more.
Go to Top of Page

therusticcottage
True Blue Farmgirl

4439 Posts

Kay
Vancouver WA
USA
4439 Posts

Posted - Sep 28 2005 :  9:53:16 PM  Show Profile
You can really tell the difference in taste with organic stuff. It actually tastes like food! I bought some organic cream cheese to have with crackers and it is amazing.

When we went to the food coop I was amazed that some of the prices were the same or cheaper for organic than I pay for non-organic. I got organic fair-trade coffee for $7.99 a lb and have paid $8.99 and up for non-organic coffee. I know that still sounds like a lot to spend on coffee but I only have one cup a day. And it is my morning luxury which I will not scrimp on!