Save Password        REGISTER
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 General Chat Forum
 **Welcome Wagon
 New to the Connection........
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author **Welcome Wagon: Previous Topic New to the Connection........ Next Topic  

BlueEggBabe
True Blue Farmgirl

417 Posts

Susan
PA
417 Posts

Posted - May 20 2005 :  09:54:06 AM  Show Profile
Hey,
Although not new to MJF, I am new to the Farmgirl Connection.
I realized yesterday when I brought home the latest issue that I was more overcome than usual by that same "soul-sister feeling" I always get when I get a new issue of MJF! I just had to write and join up today!!
I grew up on a farm and now as a grown up farmgirl of 45,I have lived for the last 10 yrs. in an old rented stone farmhouse with a big wrap-around porch, 8 drafty rooms and two (yes TWO, girls) kitchens....yahoo!! I am truly in heaven.
We have several outbuildings (in need of some big repairs!) and large gardens with acres of green pasture that are just achin' for some sheep to graze it....still working on that piece. My husband sees them out there in his mind's eye every spring!
Our landlord is an 86 year old farmgirl who loves everything we do here and truly encourages us to "use the farm" when every day farmland around us is being sold and stripped for "mansion-land".
So, although not our very own, she gives us the freedom to use her property as we like.
It is a dream, yes.......but also means that hubby must work off the farm (full time,PLUS even though his heart is here) to pay the $$$$ rent and hefty oil bills (even with 2 wood stoves).He knows the value and fringe benefits of a happy farmgirl...thanks, honey!