Save Password        REGISTER
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 General Chat Forum
 Stitching & Crafting Room
 Pre washing fabric
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Stitching & Crafting Room: Previous Topic Pre washing fabric Next Topic  

willowtreecreek
True Blue Farmgirl

4813 Posts

Julie
Russell AR
USA
4813 Posts

Posted - Nov 21 2006 :  09:58:24 AM  Show Profile
I am pretty new to sewing. Do I need to pre wash fabric before I sew with it? I use mostly cotton fabrics.

Jewelry, art, baskets, etc.

www.willowtreecreek.com

DaisyFarm
True Blue Farmgirl

1646 Posts

Diane
Victoria BC
Canada
1646 Posts

Posted - Nov 21 2006 :  10:03:05 AM  Show Profile
Yep you do Julie, cotton does shrink. I would also recommend serging or zigzagging the raw edges before you wash it too. Depending on what you're going to be making, I would wash and dry the fabric the same as you will your finished item.
Another reason I like to pre-wash is most fabrics come with a "finish" applied to them to give them body and sheen on the bolts. It feels yucky and some are even formadehyde based.
Di
Go to Top of Page

sunshine
True Blue Farmgirl

4877 Posts

Wendy
Utah
USA
4877 Posts

Posted - Nov 21 2006 :  10:10:37 AM  Show Profile  Send sunshine a Yahoo! Message
not every one washes before sewing it depends on the final use and how you feel about it. I guess it is a good habit, just one I am not into at all. Usually it is not real washing any way it is more get ya wet and through ya in the dryer to shrink if you will.

have a lovely day and may God bless you and keep you safe my blog http://sunshinescreations.blogspot.com
my web stores www.sunshines.etsy.com and http://vintagethreads.etsy.com

Edited by - sunshine on Nov 21 2006 10:11:12 AM
Go to Top of Page

KarenP
True Blue Farmgirl

666 Posts

Karen
Chippewa Falls Wisconsin
USA
666 Posts

Posted - Nov 21 2006 :  2:35:09 PM  Show Profile