prayin granny
True Blue Farmgirl

1874 Posts

Linda
Kansas
1874 Posts

Posted - Mar 19 2013 :  12:04:20 PM  Show Profile
Nini,
Have loved reading thru these posts!! You have asked the questions I've been asking for a few months now?? Duh? Should've known to bring it to the farmgirl forums, lol!!
I am trying to get brave and cut the cable cord??!!!
We have tv/Internet , phone is separate. But the cable/Internet bill runs about 170 a month, most of it tv related. It I cut cable it will save about 90 plus a month!!! Seems like a no brainier? But I enjoy my tv shows and I LOVE my dvr!!!
If I could get a more basic cable and keep the dvr?? Would've already I think!!
Doesn't work that way with our cable company!!! Aaargh!!

I heard about Roku as well as Apple Tv and Qvc has a magnavox streamer . They all pretty much work and offer the same bit I think Roku accesses more channels?
My gkids love angry birds and on some Roku you can play angry birds which is pretty cool!
It makes sense what someone said here that you can watch and access the programs when you want too.....so given that I shouldn't feel my dvr withdrawal right??? Lol!
I know you can access Pandora radio as well which is awesome.

Yes, the 'smart' tvs do what these streaming boxes do!

As for Dish. For me personally? I had the family plan pkg thru dish for several years and loved, loved it!!!!
It was under 40 a month and that included the dvr device. It always worked awesome but I lived in sunny Calif when I had it, so weather factors weren't much of an issue. I looked online and the family pkg still only runs about that price. I believe that pkg has the channels you spoke of plus hallmark and hallmark movie channel which I love!! I would have dish here and was scheduled for it when I moved out of state. But......my complex doesn't allow the satellite dishes anymore.
Sooo......kinda held hostage by the cable company here and it's darn expensive!!!

These posts are convincing me more and more to 'cut the cord'