True Blue Farmgirl

66 Posts

Kate
Warwick RI
USA
66 Posts

Posted - Mar 15 2013 :  2:20:40 PM  Show Profile
Hi Everyone!

My husband's family is Jewish. We don't tend to get together terribly often as a family, because one of DH's brothers lives in NJ with his family, and another lives in MA near their mother. My MIL is not a big cook, and last year she was living in an apartment. Anyway, last year I had a spur-of-the-moment idea, and thought it would be nice to have a family dinner/Seder at our house (especially since we are really the only ones with a dining room that can accommodate his whole family!).

Now, I am no expert on Passover proceedings, so tried to keep it relatively casual by making it a potluck, not trying to structure it too much, but I did reserve some readings to try and get a sense for how everything should flow during a Seder. And luckily his family has a sense of humor and were fine with the "flexible" arrangements! His mother brought the Seder plate and some readings, which we all took turns reading at different points. My brother-in-law's family brought salad, and my parents brought lots of wine! It was so fun.

So this year, I thought I'd offer to host a second annual Passover dinner, again doing potluck. I have mailed out invitations with dish requests (basic stuff like the salad, dessert, wine; and MIL has been asked for the Seder plate again).

I would love to hear your suggestions of other dishes to serve. Last year we got some books from the library and made great versions of matzoh ball soup (low-fat and popular!), a pumpkin kugel, tsimmes, and I must have made some other main dish - I forget what it was!

I am not sure whether the NJ branch will be coming, and if so, they will be bringing our 5 year-old nephew. I am not sure whether he has ever done a Seder...any suggestions for Passover-related activities that kids would enjoy? (My niece would also be coming - she is not yet two years old.)

Thanks!!!

Farmgirl Sister #4527