Save Password        REGISTER
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 General Chat Forum
 Barnyard Buddies
 Ticked off Chicken and a grouchy farmgirl
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Barnyard Buddies: Previous Topic Ticked off Chicken and a grouchy farmgirl Next Topic  

emsmommy5
True Blue Farmgirl

1547 Posts

Angie
Buckley WA
USA
1547 Posts

Posted - Aug 20 2012 :  4:32:05 PM  Show Profile
HELP!!! I am totally new to this whole chicken raising scene. We built the 4 girls a cute little chicken tractor. I let them out in the late afternoon to run around. Now one of the girls decided to sneak off and create a nest under the blackberry bush next to the dog's fence. He HATES the chickens and got loose one day a while back and killed one. So when they wander over there, he barks and barks.

I found her the other day sitting on her two brand new eggs (some of the first she's laid). I took them and now she is PISSED! She stands back there where the eggs were and yells and crows. I can't have her doing that because we live in town and I don't want to get in trouble.

I tried putting a golf ball out there this afternoon to see if that would appease her, but she's been yelling for 20 minutes and nothing I have tried will get her to stop.

The dog is barking. The chicken is crowing. I am laughing and totally at a loss.

The other three --- one lays in the nest box. One lays under the roost in the poop pile so her egg got crunched the other day. The third laid in the nest box, but her little egg hardly had a shell.

What do I do????

Do what you love, love what you do.

batznthebelfry
True Blue Farmgirl

1257 Posts

Michele
Athol Ma
USA
1257 Posts

Posted - Aug 20 2012 :  5:00:40 PM  Show Profile