True Blue Farmgirl

437 Posts

Annie
ID
USA
437 Posts

Posted - Jul 14 2012 :  08:02:53 AM  Show Profile
Hi Sisters,
Annie here again. Yes, I am an amateur writer. I enjoy expressing my thoughts in journals, memoirs and poems. I just know there are many of you out there with important and heartfelt thoughts. Perhaps we can enjoy that side of ourselves by posting any writings you want to share. The first poem I wrote is rather long, so I will only post part of it. It came from within me when I lost a series of several of my life long and some of my dear women friends all to various forms of cancer all within 3 years of each other. They all passed away before the age of 55. These women were amazing, true trailblazers in their living. I miss their joy and dedication and the fun we used to have, the support we gave each other during the happy and the sad. Also, in my living I was fortunate to have many mentors in my work and they have passed away. They really helped me become an adult so they were very much like surrogate parents because they fostered so much in us young girls as employees to become good at what we do. I wrote this poem when in the grieving process. In doing so I realized that I had integrated so much of these people's personhood or essence into my own being and existence. I hope you enjoy the poem. And take courage and post your own. We all could use the touch to our souls through your poetry.
Best to you,
Annie
[/i]"The Essence of You"
by CAD "Annie" copyright 2004

Wherever I go, whatever I do, whenever I see,
Did you know my mind speaks with thee?
It's as if you are standing by me,
And feeling this presence I turn to see your face,
I smile quietly realizing it is the essence of you I carry with me in place.
Whether this happens in a crowded room or whenever I am alone,
I'm aware of "how I am" knowing you were with me, but now I am on my own.
I am touched by the gift you have given me and am glad for the time we shared,