GirlwithHook
True Blue Farmgirl

922 Posts

Alyce
Madison WI
USA
922 Posts

Posted - Jul 13 2012 :  12:06:56 PM  Show Profile
Ric has a recurring problem with his lower back. Any suggestions? Poor boy is stuck in bed today.

A hook, a book, and a good cup of coffee....

AnnieinIdaho
True Blue Farmgirl

437 Posts

Annie
ID
USA
437 Posts

Posted - Jul 13 2012 :  4:12:00 PM  Show Profile
Hi..of course I'm not a doctor so I can't recommend anything. When this happened to me I would get an xray to see if a disc has slipped or is bulging. I know I used to have problems with this strain a lot, then one of my doctors discovered one leg was shorter by 1/2 inch. It doesn't seem like much really, so I got a foot insert for my shoe to raise that leg and I improved a lot. You could probably try to measure from hip to heel on each leg to get a rough idea if that could be contributing to the problem. I know anti-inflammatories work but many cannot take them as they can lead to liver, ulcer, and heart problems if you can't tolerate them. Heat for a short time helps bring blood to the area to heal the damage. Ice for a short time helps with the pain and helps with swelling. Putting pillows under the knees takes the strain off the lower back while resting on your back. Don't sleep on your side as it curves the disc. No lifting above the head helps (I know this is limiting!)And when doing work, use the proper lifting, pushing and pulling techniques. Try not to bend over while working, but squat down. Use a dollie whenever possible. It sounds like re-injury happens. I get some relief from aspercreme and naproxin sodium as this is an anti-inflammatory, but it takes a few days to build up in the system to reduce swelling. I don't know if he can take these, and some people are allergic to them. I also use a back support brace a few days after I feel better and can walk again, because I know it takes longer to completely heal even when you think you are all well.
Hope this helps a bit.