Lynn B
True Blue Farmgirl

113 Posts

Lynn
Derry NH
USA
113 Posts

Posted - Aug 30 2006 :  1:49:37 PM  Show Profile
I remember reading that clorox was bad to use (not only) if you have a septic system, I'm wondering if there are other cleaners that are also other cleaners that are bad to use?

Blessed are they who can laugh at themselves, for they shall never cease to be amused.

Nancy Gartenman
True Blue Farmgirl

9092 Posts

Nancy
West Seneca New York
USA
9092 Posts

Posted - Aug 30 2006 :  2:52:14 PM  Show Profile
I understand that when you have a septic system clorox kills bacteria. and for a septic system , as in a septic tank you need bacteria to break down the waste material, so if there is to much cloxox or like substance you will be killing the bacteria that breaks down the waste products.
Go to Top of Page

zilzirk
Farmgirl in Training

30 Posts

Liz
Fort Mill South Carolina
USA
30 Posts

Posted - Aug 31 2006 :  6:59:22 PM  Show Profile
I am new to septic tanks and I had read alot to try to find out how to handle 'em. I did read that oil is bad as it can clog the systme or your leach field. and don't flush anything like plastic wrap and condoms or plastic bags etc. Those will definately clog the system. We try and use only biodegradable cleaners like 7th Generation brand. I figure, if I don't want to pour it in my yard, I don't want to use it in the house - cause the yard is eventually were it will end up!

a city girl with farm roots
Go to Top of Page

Tina Michelle
True Blue Farmgirl

6948 Posts

Tina
sunshine state FL
USA
6948 Posts

Posted - Aug 31 2006 :  7:19:15 PM  Show Profile
I know that you do not want to use anything like powdered detergents or pour grease of any kind down the drain.