Save Password        REGISTER
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 General Chat Forum
 Farm Kitchen
 Cabernet Sauvignon----Bccccccchhhhh!
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Farm Kitchen: Previous Topic Cabernet Sauvignon----Bccccccchhhhh! Next Topic  

melody
True Blue Farmgirl

3320 Posts

Melody
The Great North Woods in the Land of Hiawatha
USA
3320 Posts

Posted - Oct 18 2011 :  5:02:09 PM  Show Profile
I made some braised beef tonight and it took about 4-1/2 hours using for the first time, wine in this particular recipe and I have to tell you the beef was "permeated" with a definite "winey" after-taste that we did not enjoy. My recipe called for quite a bit of Cabneret Sauvignon. I ignored the amount called for promptly cutting that in half-Maybe it was a mistake?

Since I am a novice at choosing wines I need some advice on a really good cooking wine.

Talk to me ladies!

Melody
Farmgirl #525

walkinwalkoutcattle
True Blue Farmgirl

1675 Posts

Megan
Paint Lick KY
USA
1675 Posts

Posted - Oct 18 2011 :  5:23:17 PM  Show Profile
I use burgundy for cooking. Not sure why-my mom always said to use Burgundy.

Farmgirl #2879 :)
Starbucks and sushi to green fried tomatoes and corn pudding-I wouldn't change it for the world.
www.cattleandcupcakes.blogspot.com
Go to Top of Page

Alee
True Blue Farmgirl

22941 Posts

Alee
Worland Wy
USA
22941 Posts

Posted - Oct 18 2011 :  9:37:20 PM  Show Profile  Send Alee a Yahoo! Message
Depending on how high your heat was- the alcohol might not have cooked off completely. Were you cooking it in the same way as mentioned in the recipe? Was it covered or uncovered? How much was requested? Perhaps the requested amount was a typo?

Alee
Farmgirl Sister #8
www.farmgirlalee.blogspot.com
www.allergyjourneys.blogspot.com
Go to Top of Page

melody
True Blue Farmgirl

3320 Posts

Melody
USA
3320 Posts

Posted - Oct 18 2011 :  9:43:25 PM  Show Profile