Save Password        REGISTER
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 General Chat Forum
 Barnyard Buddies
 Keeping chickens' water from freezing
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Barnyard Buddies: Previous Topic Keeping chickens' water from freezing Next Topic  

StrawHouseRanch
True Blue Farmgirl

1044 Posts

Paula
Holt Missouri
USA
1044 Posts

Posted - Sep 15 2011 :  07:20:11 AM  Show Profile
This is my first year with my six chickens and I'm starting to think about what I need to do for keeping their water from freezing. Does anyone use heated water bowls for their chickens in the winter? I haven't seen any heated poultry waterers yet that look like anything I would want to use.

Paula

Farmgirl Sister #3090
A Beehive is the ultimate Home Sweet Home

retasos2
True Blue Farmgirl

272 Posts

Pilar
Centereach NY
USA
272 Posts

Posted - Sep 15 2011 :  09:30:36 AM  Show Profile
I'm on the same boat. first yr with 5 chickens and not liking anything out there. Hubby wants something he can hang and is heated.

Pilar
Farmgirl Sister #2498
Little Hen House on the Island

" A woman is like a tea bag. You never know how strong she is, until she gets in hot water" Eleanore Roosevelt
Go to Top of Page

Sabrena Orr
True Blue Farmgirl

198 Posts

Sabrena
Olympia WA
USA
198 Posts

Posted - Sep 15 2011 :  09:43:22 AM  Show Profile
We purchased a heated base for their water to sit on (not exactly sure of the correct term for this item), but it is a round metal base that plugs in and we sit the chickens' water on it. It keeps it from freezing during our cold spells.

Sabrena, Olympia
Go to Top of Page

batznthebelfry
True Blue Farmgirl

1257 Posts

Michele
Athol Ma
USA
1257 Posts

Posted - Sep 15 2011 :  10:03:08 AM  Show Profile