rebekahj
True Blue Farmgirl

128 Posts

Rebekah
Santa Cruz CA
USA
128 Posts

Posted - Apr 26 2011 :  08:48:26 AM  Show Profile
I want to buy a good pressure cooker. Does anyone have any ideas on brands, types, etc? Thanks!

Urban-Farmgirl Sister #2173

Aunt Jenny
True Blue Farmgirl

11381 Posts

Jenny
middle of Utah
USA
11381 Posts

Posted - Apr 26 2011 :  12:31:02 PM  Show Profile
YOu mean cooker or canner???? I have opinions on pressure canners.

Jenny in Utah
Proud Farmgirl sister #24
Inside me there is a skinny woman crying to get out...but I can usually shut her up with cookies
http://www.auntjennysworld.blogspot.com/ visit my little online shop at www.auntjenny.etsy.com
Go to Top of Page

MaryLD
True Blue Farmgirl

861 Posts

Mary
New Braunfels TX
USA
861 Posts

Posted - Apr 26 2011 :  1:02:22 PM  Show Profile
If it is a cooker, not a canner, I have some experience with these. I always buy stainless steel. I have gotten them from the thrift store and the flea market. Over the years, I have always been able to get replacement parts as needed for the ones I bought used, as the smaller parts wore out over time. I have a new one and a used on right now. My first-ever brand new one is one I have now. It is from Fagor brand, and it has some safety features my older Presto does not have. It has a kind of a pressure relase system to let the steam out, and it has a lid lock system to where you cannot open the lid without the steam being released AND the safety lock being released, by you. I got it at Ross ( like a TJ Maxx, we did not have these in my hometown, not sure if they are everywhere but by now, I'm sure they are, lol!). Anyway, it was about $30 at Ross and it came with a cooking manual and a recipe book. I acutally like my old Presto thrift store one at least as much, though, maybe more. I needed two at a certain stage of career/ family life but right now, I mostly use one at a time, lol.