Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 General Chat Forum
 Across the Fence
 Calling all city girls who moved to the country
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Next Page
Author Across the Fence: Previous Topic Calling all city girls who moved to the country Next Topic
Page: of 2

montana gal
Farmgirl in Training

13 Posts

Sally
Bozeman MT
USA
13 Posts

Posted - Jun 03 2006 :  1:48:20 PM  Show Profile
Greetings! I'm a writer, doing a story about MaryJane for a major magazine. I'd love to hear from city slickers who left the grit and grime for the country life. Tell me why you left the city...and what you find satisfying about farming/country living.

As for me, I spent 15 years in New York City and am now building a barn (and a house and a greenhouse) in Montana. I know why I love this life, but tell me about YOU!
--Montana Gal

Paid my New York dues to live in Big Sky country

Whimsy_girl
True Blue Farmgirl

576 Posts

USA
576 Posts

Posted - Jun 07 2006 :  10:14:22 AM  Show Profile
Hey Montana Gal!

I just moved to Montana a few months ago, we came for my husbands new job, and to have a better environment to raise our kids. I can't say we really left the grime of a city though because our previous home was in a rural area in Washington, we sold it to live in a little apartment in downtown Helena until we can build something on an acre of land we bought in the Valley out between Silver City and Canyon Ferry.

I am already drawing up plans for the new place though, there is currently an older steel building on the land that we will be knocking out one side of and installing a greenhouse, and I am in the negotiating process with my husband of building a space to house some miniature donkeys too. I had gotten the go ahead for my donkeys at the old house, but we have to see what our lot looks like when we have the new place on it, those guys need a lot of room.