EverGreen Girl
Farmgirl in Training

20 Posts

Tara
Smoot WY
20 Posts

Posted - Apr 06 2006 :  1:31:14 PM  Show Profile
Hello,

I would really appreciate some feedback on the topic of grinding wheat. Can I grind up a big batch and keep it on hand to use as needed? Currently, I am grinding wheat each week when I go to make bread. I try to grind only what I'll need because I was told the excess would go bad quickly. But when I'm cooking/baking at other times, it would be so nice to have some extra ground wheat to use, instead of going for the store bought all-purpose flour. It just isn't practical for me to get out the grinder each time I need a bit of flour. Or, maybe there are times when I shoudn't be using my fresh ground and use the store stuff instead?

Thanks!

lonestargal
True Blue Farmgirl

607 Posts

Kristi
Texas
607 Posts

Posted - Apr 06 2006 :  2:42:49 PM  Show Profile
Well I am no expert as I have nothing but problems with my bread when I use fresh ground flour but I do know that it will go rancid very fast. You need to keep it in the refrigerator if you will use in a few days or in the freezer if you're not going to use it for a little while. I haven't been able to get a loaf of bread turn out right yet with fresh ground wheat. Do you have any secrets?
Go to Top of Page

Alaska farm girl
True Blue Farmgirl

123 Posts

dorothy
skagway Alaska
USA
123 Posts

Posted - Apr 07 2006 :  7:31:37 PM  Show Profile