Author Farm Kitchen: Previous Topic Dehydrators Next Topic  

carolynann
Farmgirl in Training

32 Posts

Carolyn
Branford FL
USA
32 Posts

Posted - Oct 28 2009 :  11:06:48 AM  Show Profile  Send carolynann an AOL message
I'm new to the Farmgirl Connection, so I hope I'm doing this right :-) I've been drying foods for storage, and I'm thinking about buying a bigger dehydrator. Can anyone give me some advice on what to look for? I have an American Harvester Snackmaster wit 6 trays and 550 watts of power. It's old, but it still does a pretty good job. I'd appreciate any help you can give me . . . I want to make the RIGHT choice!

Thanks, Carolyn

At home on the banks of the beautiful Suwannee River in North Florida

4HMom
True Blue Farmgirl

720 Posts

Kelly
Montana
720 Posts

Posted - Oct 28 2009 :  11:41:25 AM  Show Profile
I LOVE my 12 tray Cabela's dehydrator! I saved for awhile to get it and use it all the time now! I can do 15 pounds of jerky at a time! :)

"Be the change you want to see in the world" -Gandhi
Go to Top of Page

carolynann
Farmgirl in Training

32 Posts

Carolyn
Branford FL
USA
32 Posts

Posted - Oct 28 2009 :  2:35:29 PM  Show Profile  Send carolynann an AOL message
Great! I've been looking at a 10-tray Cabela's for $150 that sounds very close to the 9-tray Excalibur that costs $250. I'll go back to Cabela's website and take a closer look. Thanks

Go to Top of Page

carolynann
Farmgirl in Training

32 Posts

Carolyn
Branford FL
USA
32 Posts

Posted - Oct 28 2009 :  3:01:29 PM  Show Profile  Send carolynann an AOL message
Does the Cabela's dehydrator have a door? Do you have to use the screens? One of the comments said the trays have fairly large holes . . . small stuff falls thru. Folks who bought screens said they had a hard time getting them to lie flat???

Thanks again . . .

Go to Top of Page

Autumn Leaves
True Blue Farmgirl

463 Posts

Jennifer
Northern California
USA
463 Posts

Posted - Oct 28 2009 :  3:47:24 PM  Show Profile