True Blue Farmgirl

144 Posts

Margaret
Mount Vernon OH
USA
144 Posts

Posted - Mar 13 2006 :  5:49:09 PM  Show Profile
Hi Gals,

I was wondering if anyone has tried the sourdough starter recipe in the MJF book? It does not call for yeast and neither does the sourdough bread recipe. I tried to make the starter but never having done this before was not sure it went well. I really didn't see alot of bubbles and I am not really sure what the "stout beer" smell is like. I liked the recipe because it called for organic whole wheat flour but I am puzzled on how the dough will rise without yeast. Can anyone shed some light on this for me?

Thanks..Margaret

lonestargal
True Blue Farmgirl

607 Posts

Kristi
Texas
607 Posts

Posted - Mar 13 2006 :  6:25:15 PM  Show Profile
Sorry I don't really have an answer for you but I am dying to try that recipe myself. I've had my page marked now for several days meaning to get to it but have ran out of time. I'm new to sourdough bread making myself but I'm sure one of the pros here will help us both!!
Go to Top of Page

Julie
MaryJane's Farmgirl

60 Posts

Julie
Moscow ID
USA
60 Posts

Posted - Mar 14 2006 :  4:15:32 PM  Show Profile
Hi Margaret and Kristi,

I could go into a long discussion about sourdough, but check out this site for some great information www.baking911.com . Julie Beck’s husband has been making our sourdough bread and it is delicious! Half a loaf is gone in a flash. Don’t be afraid of sourdough, you will find it takes some practice and time, but if your like me, it will become your favorite. After eating sourdough all other breads seem boring.

Happy Cooking,
Julie Bell

Food Stylin' & Fancy Free
Go to Top of Page

Aunt Jenny
True Blue Farmgirl

11381 Posts

Jenny
middle of Utah
USA
11381 Posts

Posted - Mar 14 2006 :  4:28:35 PM  Show Profile