Save Password        REGISTER
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 General Chat Forum
 Farm Kitchen
 Question about sourdough starter and flour
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Author Farm Kitchen: Previous Topic Question about sourdough starter and flour Next Topic  

wooliespinner
True Blue Farmgirl

1311 Posts

Linda
Manchester Ohio
1311 Posts

Posted - Jan 18 2009 :  3:04:13 PM  Show Profile
I am starting a sourdough starter featured in the MJF magazine. I notice all the starters call for unbleached white flour. My question was do you have to use unbleached white flour to make it work?

I have been grinding my own wheat for 28 years to make bread. I use the Montana prairie gold. Its a light colored wheat and makes really good wheat flour. Would it mess up the sourdough starter if I used the prairie gold wheat instead or could I start with the white and feed it with wheat ? Have any of you ladies tried this before and did it turn out or did you get really nasty results?

Thanks for any help with this matter. I did mix up the starter as the recipe called for in MJF magazine. But will change it to whole wheat if its possible. Also has anyone ever seen where to buy the cute cast iron pot that it shows in the magazine they baked the bread in....that was really neat !

Thanks
Linda

Raspberry Run Farm
Nubian Dairy Goats

Bonne
True Blue Farmgirl

3003 Posts

Bonne
Littleton CO
USA
3003 Posts

Posted - Jan 18 2009 :  3:17:13 PM  Show Profile
Linda, ck out the thread dedicated to MJ's bread ;) ~ http://www.maryjanesfarm.org/snitz/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=28238

http://bonne1313.blogspot.com/ BLOG
Go to Top of Page

wooliespinner
True Blue Farmgirl

1311 Posts

Linda
Manchester Ohio
1311 Posts

Posted - Jan 18 2009 :  3:27:37 PM  Show Profile
Bonnie thanks...I just went there and have been reading about the sourdough starter. But I have not found anyone using homeground fresh flour yet for the starter. I am on page 4 will keep reading thanks.

Linda

Raspberry Run Farm