mikesgirl
True Blue Farmgirl

3659 Posts

Sherri
Elma WA
USA
3659 Posts

Posted - Oct 22 2008 :  11:08:11 AM  Show Profile
for an advanced Alzheimer's patient in their home? My mom has run out of money, so I'm having to make some tough decisions about what to do after November. One option would be to bring her to my house. She is wheelchair bound, non-verbal, incontinent. I don't feel very qualified - I've never done anything like this before except when she first started to get sick, I moved in with her and tried to care for her. She would have NONE of it at that time. But things are different now. I also know myself pretty well and think I'd get frustrated and go stir crazy not being able to leave if I needed to. Just wondered if anyone has ever done anything like this for a close relative before and if so, how did it go?

Farmgirl Sister #98
Check out my new online store
http://www.shopthefrontier.com/VFstore/index.php?manufacturers_id=79&osCsid=6be4b25bf9555031c6e2e86bbde23dba

Bellepepper
True Blue Farmgirl

1207 Posts

Belle
Coffeyville KS
USA
1207 Posts

Posted - Oct 22 2008 :  11:33:50 AM  Show Profile
Sherri, so sorry to hear about your mom. Do you have Hospice is your area? We have a dear friend who's wife had Alzheimers. Hospice came in a couple of days a week and he was able to get out, shop or whatever. There should be some kind of help through the social services. Check with your county or with Medicade.
Go to Top of Page

dutchy
True Blue Farmgirl

4427 Posts

4427 Posts

Posted - Oct 22 2008 :  12:27:32 PM  Show Profile
Yes I did, for 5 years.
My mom had severe Alzheimer and also very very aggressive towards me.
It was VERY hard, to say the least and not something I would recommend easily.

Don't get me wrong, I loved my mom, and cared for her 24/7 with love and attention. And it also differs from one patient to the other.