Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 General Chat Forum
 A Farm of My Own
 Does anyone else get "the look?"
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Next Page
Author A Farm of My Own: Previous Topic Does anyone else get "the look?" Next Topic
Page: of 5

prairie_princess
True Blue Farmgirl

613 Posts

Elizabeth
Carpenter WY
USA
613 Posts

Posted - Sep 17 2008 :  06:48:59 AM  Show Profile
Yay! this is my first official post! anyway, i'm a bit new at the farmgirl lifestyle. though my parents lived 40 miles from nowhere, Wyoming has been my first official home after I left home. I was in the Navy for 6 years, so i moved around alot and never got to settle anywhere or have a real home. so i'm so happy to have a comfy little country home with my hubby here in Wyoming. when i was growing up, my mom jokingly called herself a "hermit." i never understood why, but now i'm starting to understand. i feel the same way... i feel uncomfortable in big cities (i was stationed in pearl harbor, hi in the navy and HATED the big city lifestyle!) and long for the great outdoors. as i'm trying to figure out what to do with my life, i believe i just want to be a farmgirl and not have a career. i want to stay in the country and just try some different things to see what i like (honeybees, apple cider, cheese are among my interestes). problem is, it seems whenever i mention these things (which i am SO excited to try and get butterflies everytime i think about it) to other people, i get "the look." the "why in the world would you want to do that?" i've been asked so many times why i like living in the country, what could it possibly offer that the city doesn't have? people look at me as if i'm crazy! but whenever people come to visit, they love the quiet solitude and cozy lifestyle i've tried to create. does anyone else get these negative reactions? i hardly dare to tell people my plans of self sufficiency.... i suppose part of it is because i'm fairly young,27, and go to community college