Author Garden Gate: Previous Topic Hummingbird food gone bad? Next Topic  

Sandra K. Licher
True Blue Farmgirl

1106 Posts

Sandra
Horseshoe Bend Arkansas
1106 Posts

Posted - Jun 18 2008 :  07:48:19 AM  Show Profile
I feed hummingbirds with the typical syrup and feeder but it has gotten cloudy and I am wondering if that means it has "gone bad"?
Does anyone know? I'm new to feeding them and I certainly don't want to make them sick. They still seem to come to the feeder but would like to know for sure as there is quite a bit left in it and I don't want to pitch it if I don't have to.
Any info would be appreciated!

Sam in AR..... "It's a great life if you don't weaken!"
Farmgirl Sister #226

Mountain Girl
True Blue Farmgirl

806 Posts

JoAnn
Colville Washington
USA
806 Posts

Posted - Jun 18 2008 :  08:44:04 AM  Show Profile
Everything I've every read about feeding hummingbirds said to through it out if the nectar becomes cloudy. I'm sure it's a tad hot in Arkansas right now and that will hasten the spoilage. It's best to have small feeders you can refill. We make up about a quart and keep the extra in the fridge. JoAnn
Go to Top of Page

Huckelberrywine
True Blue Farmgirl

1607 Posts

Michelle
Rosalia
1607 Posts

Posted - Jun 18 2008 :  09:32:09 AM  Show Profile
When it gets 80+ I've always heard to change the syrup every 2-3 days, depending on heat. It doesn't keep well. Nice thing is you can mix up a batch and fill in small amounts, keeping the rest in the fridge. A quart jar of hummer-juice keeps nicely and looks cheerful in there. Good time to clean the feeder too. Their little beaks can get caught and they can die. I drilled out my feeder holes at a better angle, can't remember where I read about that...but no accidents yet, and darling visitors.

We make a difference.
Go to Top of Page

Sandra K. Licher
True Blue Farmgirl

1106 Posts

Sandra
Horseshoe Bend Arkansas
1106 Posts

Posted - Jun 18 2008 :  10:31:45 AM  Show Profile