Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 General Chat Forum
 Parenting & Farm Kids
 I am a public school teacher
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Next Page
Author Parenting & Farm Kids: Previous Topic I am a public school teacher Next Topic
Page: of 2

willowtreecreek
True Blue Farmgirl

4813 Posts

Julie
Russell AR
USA
4813 Posts

Posted - Feb 16 2008 :  10:57:39 AM  Show Profile
And I am really proud of it! I love my job and I think I help offer a wonderful service to many of our nations children.

I understand that there are some flaws in the education system of our country. I understand that public education is not always perfect. I support the right to choose between public school, private school, waldorf, montessori, religious education, homeschooling, unschooling and etc. But I also understand that many of these other establishments have thier flaws too.

Some days I am tired and I get stressed and maybe I don't quite have my A Game on but I always try to do my best. Some days I don't like all the rules and regulations I have to follow but I love my job and I do what needs to be done.

There are days when homeschool parents may be tired and things don't go quite as planned or other things get in the way and lessons get missed or rushed. There are times when things aren't "ideal". This happens in EVERY form of education.

I feel like I am an important part of the future of this country. Sometimes it hurts my feelings when so many people on this forum PUT DOWN public education. I have wanted to teach since I was a child. I spent 8 years getting 2 bachelors degrees and a Masters degree so I could be the BEST TEACHER POSSIBLE to the children I come in contact with. I LOVE what I do.

All I ask is that you please THINK carefully about your comments. I realize that some people may not have a use for public educators but there are a whole lot of kids in the world that would not get and education AT ALL if it were not for the public school system.