Aunt Jenny
True Blue Farmgirl

11381 Posts

Jenny
middle of Utah
USA
11381 Posts

Posted - Jul 14 2004 :  10:05:05 AM  Show Profile
I was just thinking while washing dishes the other day how much I love my old dishes. I have been collecting the ones we use daily for about 15 years. They are Colonial Homestead by Royal..sort of an "inside a cabin" scene, with different parts on different pieces and the whole scene on the big platters. The dinner plates have a fireplace and stuff around it. They are mostly green with cream. I find them now and then and got alot of them on Ebay..which was new to me at the time. They were made in the 1950's. Do any of you use old dishes every day? I never find new dishes that I like the looks of, and my oldest kids (grown) say it just wouldn't feel right to eat on other dishes when they are home. I remember my grandma's dishes very well. (white with wheat along one side) and her coffee cups were the shiny caramel colored fire king. I have some of the jadite mugs..but one day at a yard sale bought one like hers were and I am greedy with it. I am the only one who gets to use it.

Jenny in Utah

Bloom where you are planted!

Clare
True Blue Farmgirl

2173 Posts

NC WA State
USA
2173 Posts

Posted - Jul 14 2004 :  10:20:57 AM  Show Profile
Old plates are a comfort, aren't they, Jenny? I have a few that I've inherited, and a few that I just liked and picked up at yard sales... I'd love to see a picture of the pattern for Colonial Homestead.. It sounds cool!

Gardener, Stitcher, Spiritual Explorer and Appreciator of all Things Natural

Edited by - Clare on Jul 14 2004 3:29:46 PM
Go to Top of Page

jpbluesky
True Blue Farmgirl

6066 Posts

Jeannie
Florida
USA
6066 Posts

Posted - Jul 14 2004 :  10:51:55 AM  Show Profile