mikesgirl
True Blue Farmgirl

3659 Posts

Sherri
Elma WA
USA
3659 Posts

Posted - Sep 05 2007 :  12:28:04 PM  Show Profile
Hey all you wonderful bakers out there - I have a problem with my cinnamon rolls that you might be able to help me with. I make good dough - the bread turns out wonderfully, but when I turn it into cinnamon rolls, the spiral separates. Does that make sense? I roll it up, and when it rises and bakes, the layers of the cinnamon roll don't bake together, but separate and are loose - like if you picked it up, baked, it would unwind. The layers don't bake together I guess it is. Anyone know what I'm doing wrong? DH loves cinnamon rolls and I'm forever hearing about his moms.................

wallflower
True Blue Farmgirl

101 Posts

Holly
East Walpole MA
USA
101 Posts

Posted - Sep 05 2007 :  12:36:15 PM  Show Profile
I'm not an expert, but after I roll out the dough, I butter it well--butter makes everything better . After putting the sugar/cinnamon/brown sugar on, I roll. I do try to make sure that the seam is sealed--putting water along the edge and pinching the seam together. Maybe this helps some! Happy baking!
Go to Top of Page

mikesgirl
True Blue Farmgirl

3659 Posts

Sherri
Elma WA
USA
3659 Posts

Posted - Sep 05 2007 :  12:58:21 PM  Show Profile
I try and seal the edge too, but I haven't been putting water along the edge. I'll try that! Thanks!
Go to Top of Page

mikesgirl
True Blue Farmgirl

3659 Posts

Sherri
Elma WA
USA
3659 Posts

Posted - Sep 05 2007 :  2:53:19 PM  Show Profile
Well, this latest batch just came out of the oven and the same thing happened - the coil seems to get thinner as it bakes. It looks like it's going to bake together when I put it in the oven, but separates as it bakes. Help - what am I doing wrong??
Go to Top of Page

wallflower
True Blue Farmgirl

101 Posts

Holly
East Walpole MA
USA
101 Posts

Posted - Sep 05 2007 :  5:38:58 PM  Show Profile