Author Stitching & Crafting Room: Previous Topic Hey Doll Face! Next Topic  

britchickny
True Blue Farmgirl

1048 Posts

Angie
Port Orange Florida
1048 Posts

Posted - Jun 24 2007 :  2:46:45 PM  Show Profile
I would love to start making stuffed dolls. I have no problem finding body and clothing patterns but am struggling to know what to do about the face. I bought a McCalls pattern for a doll with an iron-on transfer face but it came out so faint that you can hardly see it! What do you doll makers do? I am not an artist so am not comfortable 'drawing' on a face but I am stuck. I do not want to mess her up! Any suggestions would be much appreciated!
Angie.

"Mercy, peace and love be yours in abundance" JUDE 1:2

Alee
True Blue Farmgirl

22941 Posts

Alee
Worland Wy
USA
22941 Posts

Posted - Jun 24 2007 :  3:07:40 PM  Show Profile  Send Alee a Yahoo! Message
Could you do the transfer and then color in the face to make it darker?

Alee

The amazing one handed typist! One hand for tying, one hand to hold Nora!
Go to Top of Page

Carolinagirl
True Blue Farmgirl

486 Posts

Kim
Rutherfordton NC
USA
486 Posts

Posted - Jun 24 2007 :  3:37:09 PM  Show Profile
I've never used the transfers... I usually embroider mine. Check your library for a book called Anatomy of A Doll by Susanna Oroyan- excellent dollmaking book that includes faces. Is it a baby-type doll you want to make? There's a really good book called Baby Dolls and Their Clothes that has a simple Waldorf doll face. Look through Amazon for dollmaking books as well- Patti Culea has great ones.

As far as your current doll, I'd probably embroider the face you have faintly transferred. I'm scared of drawing them myself!

Kim in NC

PS- If you need any other links/ideas/books, let me know. Maybe I can help.

:)
Go to Top of Page

britchickny
True Blue Farmgirl

1048 Posts

Angie
Port Orange Florida
1048 Posts

Posted - Jun 25 2007 :  03:23:24 AM  Show Profile