sqrl
True Blue Farmgirl

605 Posts

Melissa
Northern California
USA
605 Posts

Posted - Jul 11 2005 :  12:09:58 PM  Show Profile
I understand it takes years to finally make good bread. I like to ask a lot of questions when I'm learning something. I've been baking bread now for a couple of years on and off. We started out making sour dough with a wild yeast starter and that is really hard to work with and you don't find many recipes that work with wild yeast. Now after a little while of not baking I've starting up again. I bake every weekend, always trying something a little different. This weekend I use the mixer to knead the dough and the dough came out beautiful but my problem is really the rising. I get a good first rising in the bowl. But when I shape it and get it into the oven it doesn't rise much. I get a pretty dense bread, I mostly make buns. It's not too bad but I'm striving for a nice fluffy whole wheat bread.
Any suggestions?

Blessed Be

www.sqrlbee.com

Aunt Jenny
True Blue Farmgirl

11381 Posts

Jenny
middle of Utah
USA
11381 Posts

Posted - Jul 11 2005 :  12:19:37 PM  Show Profile
add about 1/4 cup of gluten flour to your batch of bread.(available at most grocery stores near the yeast) I make a 3 loaf batch and this is plenty..it really helps it rise up and be softer. Good luck!

Jenny in Utah
The best things in life arn't things!
Go to Top of Page

DaisyFarm
True Blue Farmgirl

1646 Posts

Diane
Victoria BC
Canada
1646 Posts

Posted - Jul 11 2005 :  1:10:36 PM  Show Profile
Similar to Jenny's idea, I add about 1 tbsp of wheat gluten per 2 loaves of bread. But what I really find works to lighten up my bread is 2 tbsps of lemon juice per 2 loaves of bread. It is supposed to "condition" the flour...don't know about that, but it sure has worked for me.

Kind regards from Vanc. Island.
Diane from Daisy Farm

Livin La Vida Loca
Go to Top of Page

sleepless reader
True Blue Farmgirl

1022 Posts

CA
USA
1022 Posts