Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 Scattered Prairie Gals
 Project Discussions
 Learning Together: Infection Control
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Next Page
Author Project Discussions: Previous Topic Learning Together: Infection Control Next Topic
Page: of 2

Red Tractor Girl
True Blue Farmgirl

3520 Posts

Winnie
Gainesville Fl
USA
3520 Posts

Posted - Feb 01 2019 :  12:42:31 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Since the Winter months are often the times when viruses seem to spread with a vengeance, I thought it might be a good idea to talk about infection control and what can we do to protect ourselves. For over 17 years of my 34 years as a registered nurse, I was responsible for Infection Control as it related to patients. However, infection control is an everyday concern for all patient care and one that we all worry about in our homes. So, what are some important and easy ways to keep ourselves and our families healthier when everyone is getting sick?

First of all, infections are basically spread in 3 main ways: Airborne, Droplet, and Contact. What does this mean?

Airborne: Tuberculosis is a common example. The TB droplets, from an infected person, are spread out in the air in tiny droplets that can remain airborne for several hours. Everyone who is in close contact with a sick and coughing person can also be infected over time by breathing the same air in a closed space like a house. There are some other viruses, in the family of serious respiratory illnesses , that are also circulating around today.