Save Password        REGISTER
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 Farmgirls Southwest
 Project Discussions
 A few "notes" from the heart of a musician
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Project Discussions: Previous Topic A few "notes" from the heart of a musician Next Topic  

ceejay48
True Blue Farmgirl

541 Posts

CJ
Dolores Colorado
USA
541 Posts

Posted - Jan 23 2012 :  1:12:27 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Dear FGSW Henhouse Chicks:

I share some "notes" with you here as part of requirement for the "MUSIC" Merit Badge.

In my training years through high school it was required of me to study and learn about all the composers of the music I was learning, which was mostly classical. I learned about some of the “styles” of these composers enough that I often could identify a piece of music being played as being written by a particular composer.

As I entered high school and started playing more and more “church music” I started learning about the lives of these songwriters and the situations in their lives that lead them to write the music they wrote. This evolved as I became more and more involved in Christian music and I was able to start teaching my students to “color” their music. An example of that would be a quiet, peaceful composition could be colored possibly as “blue”. A bright and lively piece could be colored as “red or orange”.

As I learned more and more about my Scottish/Irish heritage I began learning about the different styles of Celtic music, such as the different between a strathspey, reel or jig. And, learning more and more about the different musicians . I and my husband were able to travel on three separate times to Scotland/Ireland/Wales and England. Our 2nd trip included a “FOLKLORE” tour in Ireland with Mick Maloney as our host. Mick is an Irish musician and songwriter and I was able to learn many things from him about Celtic music.