littlegreen
True Blue Farmgirl

68 Posts

Katelyn
Spanish Fork UT
USA
68 Posts

Posted - Apr 05 2007 :  1:28:18 PM  Show Profile
Ok, I am new to this, I totally admit it! But I am starting gardening by growing tomatoes this year. I am going to buy the plants, not just the seeds since I'm just starting out and my question is when?? Someone told me not til after mother's day and others told me as soon as I want? any help on this? I live right near Salt lake City in Utah if that helps climate wise...??

and if you have any advice on what kind or how much or good plant food or whatever, i need it all!

www.littlegreendesigns.com ~ handbound blank books, purses, jewelry, and other fun stuff for the naturist in you!

Edited by - littlegreen on Apr 05 2007 1:28:52 PM

KYgurlsrbest
True Blue Farmgirl

4853 Posts

Jonni
Elsmere Kentucky
USA
4853 Posts

Posted - Apr 05 2007 :  1:31:58 PM  Show Profile
What is your zone? I am sure that you can start seeds inside rather early, but as far as plants go (I live in Zone 6 (Kentucky, West VA, etc..) and for myself, I always buy my herbs and my tomatoes and peppers (hot, sweet, etc.) around Mother's day. We can get frost right up until mid May, and I hate to always have to go out and cover things...like tonight (we're going for 6 days of below freezing temps :(

That's just my take on it, though.
Good luck to you!

"In the spring, at the end of the day, you should smell like dirt." Margaret Atwood

Go to Top of Page

ThymeForEweFarm
True Blue Farmgirl

705 Posts

Robin
An organic farm in the forest in Maine
USA
705 Posts

Posted - Apr 05 2007 :  3:29:54 PM  Show Profile