Save Password        REGISTER
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 General Chat Forum
 Stitching & Crafting Room
 FINISHED... at last
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Stitching & Crafting Room: Previous Topic FINISHED... at last Next Topic  

Clare
True Blue Farmgirl

2173 Posts

NC WA State
USA
2173 Posts

Posted - Jun 19 2005 :  1:25:57 PM  Show Profile
Thought I'd share some pics of my finally finished denim quilt that I've been working on, off and on, for many years. I've really applied myself the last few weeks to JUST FINISH IT!! It's not going to win any awards, but I am pleased with it. It really does honor my farmgirl, farmer's daughter, farm and ranch roots and heritage. And so appropriate too, I realized when I finished it, that it was done on Father's Day. My Dad would've liked this quilt, I think.

I also included some pics of my first ever quilt.. a crazy quilt that I made in 1971, from scraps of fabric that I used to make 4-H projects, and my brother's shirts that Mom made, and some of my old clothes, and just fabric that was around home while I was growing up. My, one glance at this and all the memories of each piece send me into a VVAAAAARRRRRRROOOOOOMMMMMM time warp... I just feel sucked back in time. Amazing how cloth has this capability.

So girls, my first and my last quilts. I'm such a novice at it and it takes me so long, I think this is all I've got in me, so to speak. Onward now to other projects, like decopaging suitcases for my grandkids and all those vintage style aprons waiting to come alive from my sewing machine!!

Enjoy. AND, please share pics of your finished projects too! I would love to see them.

http://pg.photos.yahoo.com/ph/farmersdaughter1230/album?.dir=/508b&.src=ph&.tok=phGkHLDBOH9q1_C7

****Gardener, Stitcher, Spiritual Explorer and Appreciator of all Things Natural****

"Begin to weave and God will give the thread." - German Proverb

Edited by - Clare on Jun 19 2005 1:37:22 PM

jpbluesky
True Blue Farmgirl