Save Password        REGISTER
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 General Chat Forum
 Herbal Wisdom
 Natural help for allergies/mouth breathing
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Herbal Wisdom: Previous Topic Natural help for allergies/mouth breathing Next Topic  

_Rebecca_
True Blue Farmgirl

568 Posts

Rebecca
OK
USA
568 Posts

Posted - Mar 07 2007 :  06:51:07 AM  Show Profile
My whole family has allergies, we don't sleep well at night because of mouth breathing. Has anyone been able to remedy this naturally? I'm interested in any insights.

thanks,

Rebecca

.·:*¨¨* :·.Rebecca.·:*¨¨* :·.

MustangSuzie
True Blue Farmgirl

634 Posts

Sarah
New London Missouri
USA
634 Posts

Posted - Mar 07 2007 :  07:12:14 AM  Show Profile  Send MustangSuzie a Yahoo! Message
Rebecca...I'm a respiratory therapist and I have allergies. A good defense against them is nasal washing. You can find info about that on my blog. I used to take Zyrtec followed by Benadryl along with a steroid shot to get through my allergies. Now I do the nasal washing and I take stinging nettle (it also goes by just nettle). You can take that up to every four hours. That is all I took last fall and it was like a miracle. No allergy symptoms and no feeling worn out and zapped from all the chemical drugs.

One good way of prevention is to narrow down just exactly what you are allegic to and try to avoid it. I believe that we know our own bodies well enough to be able to find that out without having to go thru testing at a doctors office, that is just my opinion. Just be very aware of your surroundings, the air quality etc.

Another thing you could try is an air purifier. They can be a bit expensive but if they help it's worth it. Also possibly running a cool mist humidifier at night in bedrooms if the air in your house is really dry.

Sometimes eliminating dairy and or wheat products from your diet helps. Dairy products make mucous thicker and stickier.

Hope that some of these ideas helped.