KYgurlsrbest
True Blue Farmgirl

4853 Posts

Jonni
Elsmere Kentucky
USA
4853 Posts

Posted - Jan 11 2007 :  7:19:55 PM  Show Profile
Has anyone used a cold frame to start seeds early? I live in zone 6 (northern Kentucky) and our elderly neighbors always seem to have their salad greens growing in early march.

I swiped about three old glass paned windows from someone's garbage up the street (my husband just LOVES me), and I was going to build a frame this weekend if it ever stops raining.

Any information on growing in a cold frame would be very helpful...I'm a total beginner with the garden thing for veges--not flowers. I don't want to overthink it, but I want to do it right.

Thanks!

Just think of all of the roads there are...all of the things I haven't seen....yet.

Nance in France
True Blue Farmgirl

1438 Posts

Nancy
St. Laurent de la Salanque
France
1438 Posts

Posted - Jan 12 2007 :  05:19:43 AM  Show Profile
Hey, Jonni! I too have snatched old windows from the curb for a greenhouse or cold frame. Yep, my husband just shakes his head at me. I love the day before garbage day!! You could do a quicky job by buying haybales to use as the sides and use your house foundation as the back side. I bet you could get greens going soon like that, but you'd need a better sealed one to start more tender plants. If it is really sunny and mild for a day or so and you see condensation on the glass make sure you slide the panes a bit to let a little air inside, or you may end up with steamed spinach in a jiffy. I am sure somebody will post a link that has neat plans to download. What about checking out Organic Gardening on the web? I used to love that magazine. Happy growing! Nance
Go to Top of Page

Mag
True Blue Farmgirl

144 Posts

Margaret
Mount Vernon OH
USA
144 Posts

Posted - Jan 12 2007 :  3:21:36 PM  Show Profile
Hi Jonni,