Sobyn
True Blue Farmgirl

752 Posts

Sabrina
Kansas
USA
752 Posts

Posted - Apr 09 2016 :  02:21:28 AM  Show Profile
I have a black thumb....seriously I kill everything.

I really want to be able to grow things. I can only have containers right now but hopefully next year we will be living somewhere where we can have an actual garden. But every time I invest in garden stuff or pots, soil and seeds/plants I kill them. My husband has had some success with tomatoes, peppers, and cucumbers. I kill ivy and aloe vera in pots...I have no idea what I am doing wrong.

So my question is....is there a book (or website, or some other resource) that is very basic and explains exactly how to grow things for a complete novice (or a complete gardening failure)??? I have Square Foot Gardening and Your Backyard Homestead which are great resources but apparently I'm still missing something. I feel like there is some secret to growing things that I haven't been let in on lol.

Help! TIA

Sabrina

Farmgirl Sister #3275
February 2016 Farmgirl of the Month
http://kidscrunchandchrist.com

YellowRose
True Blue Farmgirl

6998 Posts

Sara
Paris TX
USA
6998 Posts

Posted - Apr 09 2016 :  03:53:40 AM  Show Profile
Sabrina, I grow mostly in containers and what I have learned is to know how much water and light each plant needs. I have killed more plants by overwatering than any other reason. One of things that helps me is to label new plants with big letters so I can read without my glasses - "M" moist - "D" dry - so by poking my finger into the soil I can tell if that plant needs watering or not. Some plants just need to dry a little before watering - others need to be kept moist - rosemary just wants to be left along. I water my rosemary plants only during drought.

One of my favorite gardening books is 'The Kitchen Garden' by Sylvia Thompson.