melody
True Blue Farmgirl

3320 Posts

Melody
The Great North Woods in the Land of Hiawatha
USA
3320 Posts

Posted - Sep 10 2015 :  10:39:23 AM  Show Profile
I've pulled my geraniums off the front porch railing and brought them inside as well as a beautiful full bodied thyme plant. Any suggestions about keeping them fresh and green and thriving over our long northern winters? I've tried in the past to no avail, but I won't give up!!

I have a gi-normous rosemary plant that I have been bringing inside for 3 years and that seems to do very well over the winter placed along a long-low kitchen cupboard with two huge windows that are facing the north.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated--

Melody

Edited by - melody on Sep 10 2015 1:17:22 PM

ddmashayekhi
True Blue Farmgirl

4740 Posts

Dawn
Naperville Illinois
USA
4740 Posts

Posted - Sep 10 2015 :  1:57:20 PM  Show Profile
Years ago my late father and I did cuttings of geraniums and overwintered them here in the Chicago area. They did great in dad's basement that had sunshine pouring through the windows. Dad did overwater a few though and they didn't make it. We did have quite a few that did escape dad's love and they did just fine the following summer. We put a tad bit of fertilizer in the soil when we first started the cuttings.

Good luck and keep trying, a true gardener never gives up!
Dawn in IL
Go to Top of Page

Littleredd
True Blue Farmgirl

174 Posts

Patty
Norwich NY
USA
174 Posts

Posted - Sep 25 2015 :  2:07:12 PM  Show Profile
Geraniums are heavy feeders and like fresh potting soil so pot 'em up in something new before you bring them inside for the winter. They also appreciate a good trim. It will encourage new, healthy growth and flowering. And of course, if you stick the stem cuttings in some plain 'ol water they'll root like anything.