Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password        REGISTER
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 General Chat Forum
 Cleaning Up
 Frugality: Just-in-Time Household Inventory?
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Cleaning Up: Previous Topic Frugality: Just-in-Time Household Inventory? Next Topic  

brightmeadow
True Blue Farmgirl

2045 Posts

Brenda
Lucas Ohio
USA
2045 Posts

Posted - Nov 26 2006 :  09:29:08 AM  Show Profile
Just was thinking about the stocking up method of household inventory versus the Just-in-Time method...

I work in manufacturing and it has been demonstrated over and over again that having "too much stuff" whether it is raw materials or work-in-process or finished goods contributes to higher costs, whether in keeping track of it, racks for storing it, moving it around, or obsolescence, keeping it clean, or having to rework it due to engineering changes. It costs money and resources if we make more than our customer orders.

But my frugal family has always been a "stocking up" kind of family. Buy it when it's on sale, or buy it when you are in town, or get it while it's still available....My grandmother, having lived through the depression, had stacks and stacks of empty margarine containers in her cellar when she moved out. She helped to raise us and I know the pack-rat syndrome definitely rubbed off on me.

The year I lived in Spain I was amazed to find that people went grocery shopping EVERY DAY! Most didn't have large refrigerators in their homes. So they went out in the morning, bought the food, and brought it home and prepared it immediately.

So how do you balance the amount of household inventory you keep?

Do you:
a.) keep 1 extra tube of toothpaste on the shelf, then restock when you open it,
b.) wait until you have squeezed out the next-to-last bit before you run out to buy more, or
c.) do you get the warehouse specially-priced 6 pack?