Printer Friendly
Author Stitching & Crafting Room: Previous Topic Knitting Next Topic  

Nicol
True Blue Farmgirl

200 Posts

Nicol

200 Posts

Posted - May 17 2005 :  11:14:37 AM  Show Profile
Hi all! I'm a newbie. I want to learn how to knit. Where do you suggest that I look for classes? My grandma knits but she lives way down South.

Aunt Jenny
True Blue Farmgirl

11381 Posts

Jenny
middle of Utah
USA
11381 Posts

Posted - May 17 2005 :  4:21:23 PM  Show Profile
If there is a local knitting shop that would be the first place to try...If you are the type who learns well by yourself from a book....that is how I am.....there are alot of great books out there. I would try KidKnits..I have that one for my 10 year old daughter and the projects are things that are cute and fun and I like to do little things from that book myself. STitch n'[bleep] is another book I have with really basic instructions and cute projects. Good luck!! I love to knit and am always glad to see that someone else is interested!!

Jenny in Utah

Bloom where you are planted!
Go to Top of Page

Nicol
True Blue Farmgirl

200 Posts

Nicol

200 Posts

Posted - May 17 2005 :  4:41:17 PM  Show Profile
Thanks Jenny! I will try the knitting shops and also check out the book. Sometimes I learn well with books but sometimes I don't. I guess it just depends on the project.
Go to Top of Page

Eileen
True Blue Farmgirl

1199 Posts

Eileen

USA
1199 Posts

Posted - May 17 2005 :  5:00:46 PM  Show Profile
Local yarn shops are a really fun place to learn this art cause you get to meet other people who are just beginning and some wonderful talented people who are interrested in seeing you succeed at it.
Eileen

songbird; singing joy to the earth
Go to Top of Page

Aunt Jenny
True Blue Farmgirl

11381 Posts

Jenny
middle of Utah
USA
11381 Posts

Posted - May 17 2005 :  6:28:20 PM  Show Profile