Save Password        REGISTER
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 General Chat Forum
 Family Matters
 Trying to Come Out of the Fog
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Family Matters: Previous Topic Trying to Come Out of the Fog Next Topic  

cajungal
True Blue Farmgirl

2349 Posts

Catherine Farmgirl Sister #76
Houston Area Texas
2349 Posts

Posted - Aug 16 2014 :  07:14:07 AM  Show Profile
Hey Farmgirls,
I miss being interactive with this forum. Consistency for a little while and then either daily life or big life events demand my energy and time. Sometimes I feel embarrassed to even try to come back because I'm so hit or miss.

When I have come back and posted in the past, all y'all have been so gracious and loving and welcoming. TRUE FARMGIRLS!

Currently, I'm not just trying to come back to the flock for farmgirl friendship again, I'm trying to just re-enter life.

I've been caring for my ailing mom for several years. Last year, 2013, was the most difficult. She had a debilitating stroke that left her immobile and bed-ridden. Although I lived next door (our small farm is like a family commune with multi-generations having homes on it), I moved in with her. We were unable to afford any nursing care and didn't qualify for any assistance. I slept with her, fed her, had to physically pick her up and transfer her from bed to chair, clean her, and of course love on her.

My farm business had become profitable instead of just breaking even. Like any farmgirl, I did a little bit of everything....sold eggs, goat milk, bread, jams/jellies, show animals, homemade items. The farm was an educational farm. I held classes for homeschoolers, scouts and held adult workshops on sustainable living and butchering animals. I had an intern/apprentice program and a volunteer program. I was a vendor at the local farmers market. The business also had a mobile trailer that traveled to schools and put on educational programs.