Save Password        REGISTER
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 General Chat Forum
 Entrepreneurship
 I need some ideas for working from home
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Entrepreneurship: Previous Topic I need some ideas for working from home Next Topic  

nndairy
True Blue Farmgirl

3078 Posts

Heather
Wapakoneta Ohio
USA
3078 Posts

Posted - Aug 26 2013 :  4:56:14 PM  Show Profile
I am a dairy farmer looking for ideas to earn some extra money, but I need to work from home in the time I have available between milkings and other chores. I can make some crafty things, but I'm not sure I can make a business of it. A search on the internet gives me a bunch of junk. Do any of you farmgirls have any ideas?

Heather
Farmgirl Sister #4701
http://nndairy.blogspot.com/

hudsonsinaf
True Blue Farmgirl

3162 Posts

Shannon
Rozet Wyoming
USA
3162 Posts

Posted - Aug 27 2013 :  06:06:02 AM  Show Profile
If you want to go the crafty route, a lot f my friends have had great success on etsy. If you are on Facebook, you can also make a separate "business" page. And there are always farmers markets.

Not sure about your state laws, but what about selling homemade butter, cheeses, etc from your cows?
Go to Top of Page

Calicogirl
True Blue Farmgirl

5216 Posts

Sharon
Bruce Crossing Michigan
USA
5216 Posts

Posted - Aug 27 2013 :  10:09:37 AM  Show Profile
Heather,

I wonder if you could host an open house of your farm? I would love to visit a dairy farm. Maybe have demonstrations on milking cows, sell homemade cheese or butter along with your crafts. I keep thinking of the farm fair that MaryJane has had. What kinds of crafts do you do?

Farmgirl Sister #5392

By His Grace, For His Glory
~Sharon
Go to Top of Page

Cozynana
True Blue Farmgirl

1123 Posts

Kem

1123 Posts

Posted - Aug 27 2013 :  10:32:02 AM  Show Profile