Author Barnyard Buddies: Previous Topic Meat chickens as pets Next Topic  

newfarmgirl
True Blue Farmgirl

101 Posts

Janis
Baker WV
101 Posts

Posted - May 08 2013 :  12:45:00 PM  Show Profile
I received by accident 3 meat (only wanted layers) Cornish Rock chickens and 3 red pullets (although they are all white??) from the Tractor Supply Co. They are about 7 weeks old and the Cornish Rock are huge. I've done research and know the pros and cons of trying to keep them as pets, as they die often from their obesity. I will never eat them as I am a vegetarian, but don't want them to suffer. Does anyone have any experience with them. I'm new to all this. BTW, all are doing well together and the large ones are not very aggressive as long as they get enough food. Any thoughts? Jan

oldbittyhen
True Blue Farmgirl

1511 Posts

tina
quartz hill ca
USA
1511 Posts

Posted - May 08 2013 :  2:22:44 PM  Show Profile
jumbo cornish crosses will start having leg/hip problems as they grow, when they will get to a point of not being able to get up or walk, if you know someone that would want them as meat birds, you should let them go...

"Knowlege is knowing that a tomato is a fruit, Wisdom is not putting it in a fruit salad"
Go to Top of Page

newfarmgirl
True Blue Farmgirl

101 Posts

Janis
Baker WV
101 Posts

Posted - May 08 2013 :  2:32:36 PM  Show Profile
I'm afraid you are right. Thanks for being honest.
quote:
Originally posted by oldbittyhen

jumbo cornish crosses will start having leg/hip problems as they grow, when they will get to a point of not being able to get up or walk, if you know someone that would want them as meat birds, you should let them go...

"Knowlege is knowing that a tomato is a fruit, Wisdom is not putting it in a fruit salad"

Go to Top of Page

rschaaf
True Blue Farmgirl

174 Posts

Renee
Wooster Ohio
USA
174 Posts

Posted - May 08 2013 :  7:22:44 PM  Show Profile