True Blue Farmgirl

111 Posts

C.
Poway CA
USA
111 Posts

Posted - Mar 13 2013 :  7:14:28 PM  Show Profile
Hello from Denver!

I'm writing to see if anyone has any bee keeping equipment to share/spare? I am lucky enough to have a very experienced bee keeper willing to help me along on this adventure, but everything is wicked expensive for a newbie!

Any advice would be greatly appreciated as well!

Thank you,

C

kristin sherrill
True Blue Farmgirl

11303 Posts

kristin
chickamauga ga
USA
11303 Posts

Posted - Mar 13 2013 :  7:33:06 PM  Show Profile
Hi. I am just getting into beekeeping too! I went today to a store near me that sells everything to do with bees. I had put an ad on CL for used equipment but no one ever called. It's that time of year I guess. So I got my suit, smoker and a hive tool for only $83. I was thinking it was going to be a whole lot more. I have to go back to get the gloves which were $14. I hope you can find some good bee things. When are you getting bees? I'll be taking classes and work shops to learn all I can.

My sister and brother live in Colorado Springs. I've been there a few times. Welcome to the forum, by the way.

Kris

The good beekeeper is generally more or less cranky. C.P. Dadant

www.kris-outbackfarm.blogspot.com

Go to Top of Page

coccocolorado
True Blue Farmgirl

111 Posts

C.
Poway CA
USA
111 Posts

Posted - Mar 13 2013 :  7:44:16 PM  Show Profile
Hi Kris!

Wow, that is an amazing price! I have been stalking CL as well, I think my next stop will be to post on Freecyle. I just bought my house a few months ago-to be honest, I had hoped to be recovered from the down payment, etc. to be able to get my Queen and supplies ordered this month! I don't want to start so late that they don't have time to acclimate.

Have you joined any bee keepers meetups yet?

C

quote:
Originally posted by kristin sherrill