hialtfarmgirl
True Blue Farmgirl

72 Posts

Terri
WA.
USA
72 Posts

Posted - Nov 07 2012 :  8:14:11 PM  Show Profile
I am new at gardening at 4000 feet..Has anyone done this and do you have tips for me? HELP!!??

"LOVING" life at 4000 feet elev.

westfork woman
True Blue Farmgirl

554 Posts

Kennie Lyn
Emmett Idaho
USA
554 Posts

Posted - Nov 09 2012 :  07:07:03 AM  Show Profile
Hi Terri, Our place is at 4000 ft, and I love it here.
Are you on open ground, or rolling country? Irrigated or dry? There are lots of options, no matter your situation. If you are where the wind blows, some shelter is necessary. In Wyoming some people who had an orchard and nice garden, said they had to plant a windbreak first. We don't have that problem, our is a lack of flat ground. We kept building barns, shops, and stuff on top of all my garden spots. Because of the slope we are on on, we have a longer season than in the valley. And snow helps to insulate things that normally wouldn't grow here. We have been away from the ranch for 5 years, so I started over last spring gardening. I did big containers this year, and am adding raised beds for next year. It helps to have an old feedlot for dirt. Kennie Lyn

Greetings from the morning side of the hill.
Go to Top of Page

hialtfarmgirl
True Blue Farmgirl

72 Posts

Terri
WA.
USA
72 Posts

Posted - Nov 09 2012 :  4:48:55 PM  Show Profile
Thanks ...ours is flat, a few little nolls and Pine trees...everywhere you look is Pine Trees...but, around the house is cleared and never been planted, I do have to haul all of my water,,,sos,,,,were thinking raised beds with LOTS of mulch will do for us....

"LOVING" life at 4000 feet..."LOVE" is a very splendid thing...
Go to Top of Page

westfork woman
True Blue Farmgirl

554 Posts

Kennie Lyn
Emmett Idaho
USA
554 Posts

Posted - Nov 12 2012 :  07:46:47 AM  Show Profile