Zippy
Farmgirl in Training

22 Posts

Zee
Idaho
USA
22 Posts

Posted - Oct 26 2012 :  09:37:46 AM  Show Profile
Hello, I'm sort of a newbie here, but I thought I would post a bit about the things I'm doing to get our home ready for those chilly days of winter.

I just finished our living room and kitchen yesterday. I put that shrink wrap plastic on all the windows and some weather stripping on the front and back doors. I also put some outlet insulators in the outside wall sockets.
I can't believe how much warmer it stays in those rooms now! We have an oil stove and the fuel for that thing is so expensive, anything I can do to keep the heat in helps save some money.

Does anyone have more ideas for weather proofing I might be able to utilize?

"Only A Life Lived for Others is A Life Worthwhile."
~Albert Einstein

pinokeeo
True Blue Farmgirl

559 Posts

Phyllis
Oregon
USA
559 Posts

Posted - Oct 26 2012 :  2:06:27 PM  Show Profile
Draft dodgers. Use towels, rugs, or whatever you have to make draft dodgers for your doors. We put them down in front of all of our doors when we are inside. It keeps the heat from seeping out under the door sill.

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
I cannot master those things that I have not tried.

check out my artfire: http://www.artfire.com/users/PiNOKEEOs
Go to Top of Page

Zippy
Farmgirl in Training

22 Posts

Zee
Idaho
USA
22 Posts

Posted - Oct 26 2012 :  6:29:55 PM  Show Profile
Thanks, I will be using the draft dodger idea. I can feel the cold air coming from underneath my doors. I've read that all those little leaks add up to the equivalent of a big hole in one of your walls in energy waste!

~Albert Einstein

http://pinterest.com/zipporahd/
Go to Top of Page

sherone_13
True Blue Farmgirl

2460 Posts

Sherone
Evanston WY
USA
2460 Posts

Posted - Oct 29 2012 :  07:15:07 AM  Show Profile
With a big woodstove and a small log house, I am trying to let heat our most of the time. *lol*

Sherone

Farmgirl Sister #1682