damajana
Farmgirl at Heart

3 Posts

Jana
Albuquerque NM
USA
3 Posts

Posted - Sep 10 2012 :  12:21:30 PM  Show Profile
Having grown up in so. Idaho on a farm/ranch, it's in my blood. Altho I'm an urban farmer in NM now and a grandma, I live the life and find myself drawn back to my roots of homesteading and pioneering women (and men). Their stories entertain me, but even better, inspire, encourage and strengthen me and I thirst for more. If not a book idea, perhaps a regular magazine topic with sisters' submissions of their stories of grandmothers, mothers,foresisters, etc. Many of our younger sisters don't have a direct source of days gone by. There is so much to learn from our forebearers and their "normal" lives! I hope this will be considered and I can't wait to find what's up in my next issue of MJF. Thanks.

Bear5
True Blue Farmgirl

13055 Posts

Louisiana/Texas
USA
13055 Posts

Posted - Sep 10 2012 :  1:45:29 PM  Show Profile
Good idea, Jana.
Marly

"It's only when we truly know and understand that we have a limited time on earth- and that we have no way of knowing when our time is up- that we will begin to live each day to the fullest, as if it was the only one we had." Elisabeth Kurler-Ross
Go to Top of Page

garyw965
True Blue Farmgirl

51 Posts

Gary
Hemet CA
USA
51 Posts

Posted - Sep 13 2012 :  6:09:44 PM  Show Profile
That's a great idea! We need to make sure our grandchildren know where they came from.
Go to Top of Page

littlegirl54
True Blue Farmgirl

61 Posts

Connie
Rio Linda California
USA
61 Posts

Posted - Sep 15 2012 :  10:18:15 AM  Show Profile
I agree. I remember reading some stories from my grandmothers, and how they have helped instill the desire for creativity in me.

Life's too short to sit in a box all day. Get out and do something creative.

Connie H.
Farmgirl Sister 4152
Go to Top of Page

jpbluesky
True Blue Farmgirl

6066 Posts

Jeannie
Florida
USA
6066 Posts

Posted - Sep 19 2012 :  11:14:01 AM  Show Profile