MelodyRose
Farmgirl in Training

32 Posts

Melody
Hallsville Missouri
USA
32 Posts

Posted - Aug 15 2012 :  8:39:26 PM  Show Profile
I'm pretty new to canning--I guess this is my second year--and I was hoping someone could tell me 1-that I CAN preserve refried beans, and 2-how. I'm confused as to whether or not you are supposed to can your own recipes to begin with, but usually my husband goes off of the ingredients (how to can tomato products, for example, considering the other ingredients) and sometimes cooks it for a little longer than a similar recipe would instruct.

So, I have a gallon of pinto beans, cooked with my own beef stock (they are HEAVEN!), and I'm hoping that I can season them, run them thru the food processor to turn them into refried beans, and can them. I have both a water bath canner and a pressure canner, and a husband with working knowledge of both, I'm just not finding much on canning a refried bean recipe. However, I know you can put up pinto beans and black beans, and I used pinto, so I'm hopeful that it'll work and that we won't have to freeze this large amount of beans!

TIA for your help.

www.aquietlittlelife.blogspot.com

www.MRSdesigns.etsy.com

windypines
True Blue Farmgirl

4221 Posts

Michele
Bruce Wisconsin
USA
4221 Posts

Posted - Aug 16 2012 :  04:07:52 AM  Show Profile
NOt sure on canning refried beans, but you can do the beans themselves. It is simple after that to make up the refried beans.
It is alot nicer have them canned, as then they are cooked.
Michele
Go to Top of Page

MelodyRose
Farmgirl in Training

32 Posts

Melody
Hallsville Missouri
USA
32 Posts

Posted - Aug 16 2012 :  08:08:28 AM  Show Profile