Sitnalta
True Blue Farmgirl

4208 Posts

Jessica
NJ
USA
4208 Posts

Posted - Aug 04 2012 :  4:11:52 PM  Show Profile
We just moved into a new place and there are wanna be flower beds all over the place. The people before us didn't give a hoot about the flowers nor other beds and let them all go. So, it's been about 5 years since it has really had any love put into it. Now, for my question. What do I do to get this wilderness tamed? I have two little flowerbeds right out front that the children and I weeded today. What things are good to put there? Do I get seeds to start them this late in the year? Live plants are kinda expensive for me. How do I know which seeds are actually going to produce. I am an almost total garden newbie but would love to make this new place look beautiful and inviting. HELP?? :D
hugs
Jessie

"Wonder Woman hasn't got a cape, she just turned her apron around"
Farmgirl Sister #235

Fiddlehead Farm
True Blue Farmgirl

4562 Posts

Diane
Waupaca WI
USA
4562 Posts

Posted - Aug 04 2012 :  6:25:41 PM  Show Profile
It is a little late in the year to start flowers from seed. You can start some next spring. Right now I would work on getting the soil good by adding compost. You can find perennial flowers on sale this time of year and plant them. They will come back every year. Annuals won't, so you have to plant them in the spring. Some of my favorite perennials are cone flower (echinacea), lily of the valley and black eyed susans. You can also plant bulbs later this fall for spring and summer blooms. Tulips, daffodils, lillies and iris' are just a few of the bulb flowers. It would be good to start reading up on the different types of flowers or plants that you like over the winter and you will be blooming before you know it!

http://studiodiphotosite.shutterfly.com/
farmgirl sister #922

I am trying to be the person my dogs think I am.