True Blue Farmgirl

50 Posts

Vanessa
Vermillion SD
USA
50 Posts

Posted - Jul 12 2012 :  11:17:06 AM  Show Profile
I am new to the sisterhood.

Well, now I am feeling a bit overwhelmed. I've read the tips for new comers but, my! there is so much to this site! I will figure it out eventually.

I look forward to meeting all of you. I currently live on a small acreage in SE, SD, where we need rain really bad. I have two darling sons still at home (12 and almost 14), 2 children off at college (graphic design major and mechanical engineering). An encouraging husband who lets me do whatever project I want to when I'm not home educating the boys or taking care of his supper.

We have 2 Great Pyrenees who need more to do (I'm thinking geese) and one endearingly spoiled indoor cat.

I like to machine quilt, crochet, put up food, bake my own organic fresh milled whole grain bread, am learning to knit, and am trying to do something productive with a huge stash of gorgeous fabrics. (Maybe silk satin pillowcases?) I absolutely love basketry and watching birds and singing. I also enjoy shooting sports. (I will insert here that I love Jesus most of all. and that relationship takes some time, too)

I need to finish a lot of projects even though I know that I will continue to start new ones as I go. Finished a quilt top yesterday and will have to have that one professionally stitched. Finished lashing a basket today. The summer is going by quickly.

I've had: meat rabbits, bottle calves, Pygmy goats, La Manchas, chickens, a horse, guineas and I miss them all. Such sweet times with the children and on our own. All of these critters were on our homestead in NCentral OK. We have been in the upper Midwest now almost 3 years. I do love it up here!

Looking forward to our future together,

Vanessa

craftystranger
True Blue Farmgirl

525 Posts

Barbara
Franklin NC
USA
525 Posts

Posted - Jul 12 2012 :  12:27:32 PM  Show Profile