Next Page
Author A Farm of My Own: Previous Topic Living the farm life... Next Topic
Page: of 2

KansasFarmMomma
True Blue Farmgirl

91 Posts

91 Posts

Posted - Jun 11 2012 :  4:09:48 PM  Show Profile
Okay, if this is all in the wrong place, please excuse this post! I'm still trying to learn this whole deal :-) I'm working towards my shutterbug badge, which seemed like the easiest to deal with because I am already a photographer by trade. One of the requirements was to share some photos & how you are living the farmgirl lifestyle...so here is me sharing some photos

Our lives revolve around horses. I am an equine photographer & my husband is a farrier. We also buy, train & re-sell horses. This is my husband working on desensitizing his horse who came to us with a MASSIVE fear of ropes.

This is Fancy, she's a mare that we've had at our ranch several times for some refreshing of her manners & training.

Because horses are basically our entire lives, we are starting our son very early on horses. He is getting a saddle this Christmas & a pony in the spring. He'll be riding as soon as he can walk.

Rodeos are our biggest form of entertainment. We usually go to one a weekend(of course on the weekends that we don't have trail rides, shoeing competitions, & horse shows)

We respect every animal and try to care for them as best we possibly can. This was a puppy that someone dumped at the college's arena because they didn't want him anymore. We brought him home & found him a new home.

I worked the wheat harvest the last 2 years for a neighbor. I didn't work this year because we are so rural there is no way I could find a babysitter to be on call for 2 or 3 weeks. During the rush of harvest, waiting to unload the grain at the co-op can take a LONG LONG time. This was a photo I took while waiting for my turn.

Your truck fills up quick when being loaded from both sides!

This was a photo I took during corn harvest to give to my boss as a present.