Author Barnyard Buddies: Previous Topic Lost a chick yesterday Next Topic  

horseygirlonafarm
Farmgirl in Training

17 Posts

Kendra
Basehor KS
USA
17 Posts

Posted - May 16 2012 :  06:53:23 AM  Show Profile  Send horseygirlonafarm a Yahoo! Message
I'm new to chicken keeping. My babies arrived on April 23rd, so they are 3 weeks and 4 days old. All seemed to be doing well. I check on them and spend time caring for them twice a day. Yesterday I found one of my Buff Rock females just lying there, dead. (This was one of my larger chicks, not a runt). There were no signs of struggle or encounter with any predator. The birds are in a coop, not a brooder any longer, since they outgrew it. I have them in only one 8 x 8 foot room of their coop where there is room to move about yet can get under the heat lamp if they feel the need to. Food and water was readily available, so that can't be the problem. They are vaccinated against the Coccidia and Maerk's diseases. I am worried now that some other babies are going to die on me. We got to only 80 degrees yesterday, so it can't be the temperature. There was plenty of ventilation and open "windows" for air flow. Feed wise they are on medicated which probably is not necessary since they had the coccidia vaccine. They get vitamins in their water, too. I have started giving them greens (grasses, weeds, dandelions, etc.) Are there greens I should avoid giving them?

Any advice is appreciated. I am wondering if I should call the hatchery and report the loss (I ordered from McMurray).

County livin' in Kansas City with my two kids, husband, cats, chickens, and horses :)

Shop online, anywhere, anytime at: http://kendraford.avonrepresentative.com/

oldbittyhen
True Blue Farmgirl

1511 Posts

tina
quartz hill ca
USA
1511 Posts

Posted - May 16 2012 :  08:01:47 AM  Show Profile