pennyhenny
True Blue Farmgirl

304 Posts

Missy
Dayton OH
USA
304 Posts

Posted - May 07 2012 :  2:50:15 PM  Show Profile
I'm new to fighting off slugs. I found about 17 of them just eating away at my beautiful Irises. Please help me with what I can do to naturally to combat them. I'm trying the beer method but honestly after touring the fornt yard and the garden I think I will need about 50 pie pans full of beer. Oh yes we have a SLUG problem. I never had this problem at the lake so I'm quite at a loss at what to do.

HELP ME!!!

hugs,
-missy-

http://citychickblogging.blogspot.com/

Sisterhood Member#4003

Happiness held is the seed; Happiness shared is the flower.
John Harrigan

Bear5
True Blue Farmgirl

13055 Posts

Louisiana/Texas
USA
13055 Posts

Posted - May 07 2012 :  2:59:33 PM  Show Profile
Missy: We have been fighting slugs for the last 7 years. I save all the round cat food cans daily. We fill them up with cheap beer and in the morning, we usually find 20 to 30 dead slugs. If you find something different, let us know. Good luck.
Marly

"It's only when we truly know and understand that we have a limited time on earth- and that we have no way of knowing when our time is up- that we will begin to live each day to the fullest, as if it was the only one we had." Elisabeth Kurler-Ross
Go to Top of Page

Ninibini
True Blue Farmgirl

7577 Posts

Nini
Pennsylvania
USA
7577 Posts

Posted - May 07 2012 :  3:58:47 PM  Show Profile
Missy - You can also try using regular old flour around the base of each plant, too. The flour dust adheres to their skin and suffocates them. It's amazing stuff. Sometimes I just dust flour all over the garden bed, and if it lands on the plant's leaves, I leave it - it works really, really well. Good luck! - Nini

Farmgirl Sister #1974

God gave us two hands... one to help ourselves, and one to help others!

Go to Top of Page

emsmommy5
True Blue Farmgirl

1547 Posts

Angie
Buckley WA
USA
1547 Posts