Nancy Gartenman
True Blue Farmgirl

9092 Posts

Nancy
West Seneca New York
USA
9092 Posts

Posted - Feb 26 2012 :  10:41:13 AM  Show Profile
This is interesting from the first page. A great look into the lifestyles of the rich and famous in the early 1900's. Zelda was the wife of F Scott Fitzgerald author of The Great Gatsby. Posted a picture.

www.Nancy-Jo.blogspot.com

frannie
True Blue Farmgirl

2246 Posts

fran
bonham texas
USA
2246 Posts

Posted - Feb 26 2012 :  10:54:06 AM  Show Profile  Send frannie a Yahoo! Message
i remember reading alot of f.scott fitzgerald in high school. i graduated in l969, yes, i am an 'ole lady, as my sweetie olivia says.
i cant remember if i read zelda or not.
there is a movie about t.s. elliot's wife that also depicts that period, and surprisingly enough his wife was also hospitalized for the last 11 yrs of her life . she ended up having thyroid disease without any treatment.
i have to say it but they might have to hospitalize me if i was married to f.scott, or t.s. ellot. ....just saying.

love
frannie in texas
farmgirl sister#807
home of "green"crafts,
where no scrap is left behind
(http://abunnystale.wordpress.com/)

Go to Top of Page

Amie C.
True Blue Farmgirl

2099 Posts

Finger Lakes Region NY
2099 Posts

Posted - Feb 27 2012 :  07:23:43 AM  Show Profile
Frannie, about TS Eliot, he also had a nervous breakdown from the strain of trying to care for his mentally ill wife at home while working full time. After she was hospitalized he got a divorce and her family took over her care, but he didn't remarry until after she died. I haven't seen the movie, but I think from what I've read that they got married young and against their families' wishes. Pretty sad all around.